Does anybody have a guide to temperature for different grains

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tonypr24

Reaction score
Guys

I have put together my very own recipe but not sure what temperature to mash the grain. I am thinking on going with 150f for mash but not sure if that is the best temp Anybody have a good guide for different temps for different grains?

what is your recipe? I think that the mash temp is more influenced by the end result of the brew. do you want it to be drier or maltier? the lower the mash temp the more fermentalbe the wort will be and thus the drier the beer. I am not an expert with grains so i do not know if there are certain malts that need to be mashed in a specific temp range. Maybe pilsner malts, but i think they just need a longer mash time to convert.

If you supply your reicpe i bet someone with more experience can offer a more compete answer.

I'm doing a Cream ale and my grains are
8.00 lb Pilsner (2 Row) UK (1.0 SRM) Grain 80.00 %
1.00 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 10.00 %
1.00 lb Munich Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 10.00 %

150 should be fine. Cream Ales generally have some corn in them (if you're brewing to style).

Yeah, temperature has to do with style of beer you are brewing, not kinds of grain. Mash closer to 150F for a thin mouthfeel (like a cream ale). Mash in the upper 150's for thicker mouthfeel beers (e.g., Scottish ales or sweet stouts). It generally depends on what you want in the beer, not the kind of grain.