Do you whisk in DME?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Poppy360

Reaction score
Just a little observation.

For my first two batches I used a spoon to stir in DME as I slowly added it to my wort. This caused some lumps to form in the wort that didn't dissolve.

As a chef I know that using a whisk when stirring in a powder (ie. flour, DME) will break it up to smaller particles and allow for better dissolving. I now whisk in my DME and it dissolves perfectly. No lumps at all.

That's all. :D :tank:

try mixing the DME in cold water. I usually set apart X amount of water that has been subtracted from the total amount of the boil, mix the DME and then add that to the boiling water. Makes things much easier for me.

david_the_greek said:
try mixing the DME in cold water. I usually set apart X amount of water that has been subtracted from the total amount of the boil, mix the DME and then add that to the boiling water. Makes things much easier for me.

I'm not really looking for other options since this works great for me, but thanks. Just wanted to find out if other people do this too. :mug:

that cold water will kill the boil temp. by quite a bit...especially not ideal for late extract additions.

when I add my DME, I sorta sift it. DME REALLY wants to pull water back into it, so I just shake my container (usually Gladware) and let it go into the wort as I vigorously stir it up. seems to prevent major clumps well.

I have only used DME for one batch and noticed the clumping problem too. When I make starters it clumps, but I get them to go away simply by stirring. From now on though I will whisk whether I use it for an extract brew or a starter that makes such good sense I feel stupid for not thinking of it.