Critique/Advice on My First Brew (thorough with pictures)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

electrolight

Reaction score
So I have made apfelwein once. It was a fun experience so I decided to try my hand at brewing. And of course as a novice I couldn't chose to do extract, I definitely had to do an all grain batch. And of course I couldn't choose and "easy" beer I had to go with a Scaldis clone. Well all things considered I think it went pretty well and I definitely had a couple accidental strokes of luck.

I was trying to make a 5g batch using the stove top BIAB approach. The grain bill was 17.5lbs but I got an increased ratio of 19.5lbs in case my efficiency was bad (since it is my first attempt at brewing). As you can imagine this was alot more grain than I imagined it was when I took it home and got it out of the bag. Unfortunately I only had a 6g pot and a 5g pot so on the fly I had to improvise and make two mini batches and was worried silly I already would be ruining the brew before it ever got going (I later learned this was actually a common approach and have since eased my fears).

When I was done mashing and sparging? (it was on the stove so I'm not sure it is still called sparging) both batches I was left with about 9g of wort total in both pots [picture 1]. I couldn't believe I had so much because I followed the directions online as far as how much water to use almost to a t. Anyways I set the grain aside to dehydrate with my dehydrator because I remember reading something about making bread with the spent grain [picture 2].