Critique a Newbie's First Recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danath34

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm pretty new to this, but I've picked up a lot from lurking here and from Charlie Papazian's book. I have an idea for a recipe (extract) that I was hoping you guys could take a look at.

Essentially what I'm trying to do is make an imperial cream ale. I hope to be able to get the OG to 1.090 or so. I also want to keep the IBU's low, and keep the brew as close to the drinkability of a standard cream ale as is feasible. I will be doing a 5 gal batch.

this is what I've come up with:

one can of NB cream ale extract: - 20 mins steep on the specialty grains before boil, late addition @ 15 mins for the LME
http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/cream-ale-extract-kit.html

3lbs Munton's extra light DME - 15 mins

3lbs Honey, 15 mins

1 oz Cluster, 60 mins
1.5 oz Cluster, 15 mins
1tbsp Irish moss, 15 mins

WLP080 yeast starter

I'll primary for probably 2-3 weeks at 65F, secondary for a couple weeks @ same, then crash cool for a week or so, bottle, and condition for probably a month.

what do you guys think? how's the hop level? I'm pretty sure the NB can is hopped and like I said I'm trying to keep hops low on this one. also, should I add the honey (and maybe more yeast) to secondary instead to avoid a stuck primary?

thanks in advance, and I hope this is the right section.

That should work. I checked out WLP080 because I'd be concerned about alcohol tolerance, but that one looks like it should stand up to it.