confused about converting all grain recipes

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ukulele01

Reaction score
Hello. I am a relative beginner. I am confused about how to use specialty grains. I have search the archives but have not been able to find an answer to my question. Recently I began steeping small amounts of specialty grains and adding them to light colored pre-hopped kits (mostly Coopers) to make some styles that are not available as kits. The two recipes I have made thus far were specifically designed to be made with a kit, but I would like to branch out. I have been looking at all grain recipes and wondering how to adapt them for use with pre-hopped kits. At first I thought I could use use them weight-for-weight, but this chart in John Palmer's "How to Brew" has me wondering:

http://www.howtobrew.com/section2/chapter12-4-1.html