Confused 1st year goldings

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HItransplant

Reaction score
I'm a novice hop cultivator with A first year EKG plant.
I've been watching and waiting for the right time to cut them back for winter, and a few questions have come up.

First, here's what they look like.

image-25429023.jpg

Yellow but not entirely shriveled yet.

Is it time to cut, or should I wait until the leaves fall off?

To further complicate things, when I went to look at them today, I noticed what appears to be shoots starting.

image-210599883.jpg

image-3916760403.jpg

image-436533286.jpg

These, I believe to be the result of the mild autumn we are having in Portland this year.

I'm wondering if I should wait for a freeze to cut, might lead to less confusion for the plant.

Thoughts? Suggestions?
Thanks.

Also, if anyone is so inclined, do I mulch/compost after I cut (burying the cut stump), or before (leaving the stump sticking out just above ground level)?

You can cut it off now or later, but for sure that teeny li'l sprig ain't gonna survive to Spring, and new growth emerge from beneath the soil anyway.

Mulch after you behead...

Cheers!

day_trippr said:
You can cut it off now or later, but for sure that teeny li'l sprig ain't gonna survive to Spring, and new growth emerge from beneath the soil anyway.

Mulch after you behead...

Cheers!

Thanks. I figured it they wouldn't make it to spring, but I didn't want to stimulate further growth from those nodes like you do when you trim other plants.

hitransplant,