Commercial APAs without Cascade?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

krahm

Reaction score
I know some folks think that's a contradiction in terms, but I'd like to set that conversation aside for the moment, if possible. I'm new to the hobby, and I'd like to branch out a bit. I'm not a huge fan of grapefruit, so I'd like to get a sense of what some other hops taste like in an APA, and I'd like to speed up the process a bit (rather than waiting 6 weeks per batch).

So, can anyone suggest some commercial ales to try that use something other than Cascade? I've got a batch going using Magnum/Willamette, but it's going to be a few weeks. In the meantime, since the pipeline is dry, I thought I might take a shortcut, try a few beers that feature different hops and restock my bottle supply in the process. Any suggestions? It seems like everything I look at features Cascade....

Here's what I've got so far. Doing a bit of research this morning, I did see that a local TX brewery (Real Ale) uses Czech Saaz in their Rio Blanco Pale, and I see that New Belgium's Dig features Nugget and Sorachi Ace (though Cascade, too), so those are going on the shopping list.

I know there is a brewery that makes single hop IPA's and Pale Ales. Good for getting the feel for a certain hop variety. Can't remember the name but they have them at BevMo. I just made a single hop (Columbus) pale that is AMAZING!!

Widmer Brothers has a series of single hop beers using lesser used varieties.

There are plenty of non-Cascade US pale ales but not as many non-citrusy ones. The Northeast has a number of of English-style pale ales. Cooperstown and Shipyard (Chamberlain Pale Ale) come to mind, but there are others.