Cold Crashing and gelatin. Add when??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hank_McCoy

Reaction score
So I'm posting on this thread since im new to home-brewing and still using ingredient kits using extracts and bottling. No kegging. So my question is at what stage of fermentation can I cold crash my fermantator in the fridge and add the gelatin? And secondly, would it be better to transfer into your secondary carboy to further displace adjuncts and proteins. My obvious goal here is beer clarity without kegging.

Welcome to HBT!

Cold crash only after you're sure fermentation has finished.

How do you know it's finished?
When all signs of fermentation have ceased, take a hydrometer sample and another one 3 days later. If they are the same and it's close to your expected FG, fermentation is (usually) done.

At that point it's generally deemed safe to package/bottle.

You may want to clarify the beer a bit more, before bottling. Cold crash the beer first before adding the dissolved gelatin, no need to stir, although you could give the top a gentle one. Let it do its work for a few days (4-7). Repeat if needed.

The closer you can keep it to 32F the better and faster it clears, but ~36F works fine too. Make sure it doesn't freeze up!

Omit secondaries, they're not needed. Everything will sink to the bottom after a rest period leaving clear beer on top. Cold crashing speeds that process up, gelatin helps too, but is not always needed.

Rack or siphon the clear beer into your bottling bucket with priming solution. Prevent sucking air, and any splashing, as that will aerate your beer and oxidize it over time, which is bad.