Cold Brew Recipes and Process?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djonesax

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi,

I have been kegging cold brew for a couple years now and serving on nitro. It's so nice to be able to pour a glass on summer mornings and hit the road and not have to wait for hot coffee to brew. I mix it with my other beers and also protein shakes sometimes for nice caffeinated afternoon snack or even breakfast sometimes.

I was curious how many others out there are doing this and what your water to coffee ratios are. I am aiming for drinkable coffee right out of the tap without diluting but it sometimes it's hard to get a good strong coffee flavor without way way to much caffeine. This last batch I did half french roast and half Jamaican blend with chocolate and spices. The french roast did add some bitterness though. It was pretty good but still extremely caffeinated. Next I am going to try Charleston Signature Blend Bold Roast from Costco and see how that works.

I had settled on 5lbs of coffee with 6 gallons of water, which seems like a lot but the coffee was coming out a bit watery other wise. I steep for 18-24 hours in my fermentation chamber. One thing I'll try different this time is to stir it up every few hours and see if that helps get more flavor out.

So I am curious what any of you are doing as far as process and water to coffee ratios, as well as brands of coffee you've tried.

Thanks,

David

I use a similar weight to water ratio of 1lb per gallon of water. I also steep at room temp for about 36 hours. I do water down though.
If you want to reduce caffeine but keep flavor why not mix 4 lbs regular and 2 lbs of decaf or any other combo that gets the right level for you?