"Clear" layer in carboy after cold crash

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
That's your blow off water and sanitizer... it sucked it all back in. See how your jug is empty?

Ouch.

Do not leave a blowoff tube attached in a tub of water/sanitizer.

I used to use sanitized aluminum foil for cold crashing, now I just crash in the keg.

Yup, now that you say it. I'm sure that's what happened. Gunna try to save it but we'll see what happens...

You could try syphoning out the top layer of sanitizer. Do it without moving the carboy if you can as it will likely get even more mixed in than it already is.

This was a total noob mistake too, it's never happened before because I know better than to put the blowoff bottle into the fridge... Palmface headwall

Yep, I've seen that before (ugh). I know people will say it's OK, but it wasn't in my case. I did it to a IPA and had to dump it. Even though I tried to siphon carefully, the beer ended up with a very soapy flavor. It might have been a coincidence and have been caused by something unrelated. Anyway, I'm very careful now to get that blowoff removed before cold crashing.

I've done it too and did not have success trying to siphon off the top layer. If you're going to do it I'd actually try siphoning the beer out from below and see how it goes.

Take a gravity reading of what you get when you try to separate the two (water and beer)

See how much it has dropped from your FG reading. You will be able to work out how much sanitizer (~99% water) has been added. The figure might make you hesitant to package it up. Give it a good generous tasting too.