Cider very slow to start fermenting?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeffceo24

Reaction score
Hi, its my first time making cider. I put 5 gallons of pasteurized store bought apple juice and sugar in a 6 gallon bucket fermentor. (basically Pappy's Pub Cider with a little less sugar) I used one packet of Red Star Pasteur Blanc champagne yeast and 2 teaspoons of Fermax. The fermentor is in my basement at around 65 degrees.

It has been just about 3 days now and I don't see any airlock activity. I carefully peaked through the airlock hole and there was a minimal cloudiness to the juice and some tiny bubbles on top. No major signs of fermentation though. Should I pitch another packet or two of yeast? Did I do something wrong? The juice does not have potassium sorbate or any preservatives per the label. Thanks!

I'd be patient. It will not have a krausen like beer (except sometimes for whatever reason if it really blows away suddenly it gets foamy).

Airlock activity doesn't indicate fermentation - especially with a bucket. You may have a small leak somewhere letting the CO2 out (common) and it's no big deal. My bet is that it is fermenting just fine.

FWIW I have something similar going now, but in a carboy....and just to look at the surface, other than cloudiness and some small bubbles, you wouldn't know. I have a tight bung and a blowoff tube, so I can see/hear it going. On one of my buckets, I often get little air lock activity because there s a small leak somewhere if I don't get the lid just right.....and I don't really care.

Airlock activity doesn't indicate fermentation - especially with a bucket. You may have a small leak somewhere letting the CO2 out (common) and it's no big deal. My bet is that it is fermenting just fine.

This ^^^