CHERRY wheat, weizen, witbier

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gjuro

Reaction score
hi guys,

i'm a rookie brewer planing to make my first cherry beer. i want a beer with cherry power of a kriek, i want to really taste the cherry, not just get a note of it, but will not be making a lambic as it is too complicated at this stage in my homebrewing career. so it's gotta be a wheat ale, weizen or most likely a witbier with a strong cherry taste of a kriek!i will put the cherries in the secondary!as a beginner, i have a couple of questions:
1. how much cherry should i get for the desired taste(in kilos per liters or lbs per galon)?
2. i'll freeze the cherries but do i need to pasterize them before/after the freezing?
3. i read people add water into the secondary.how much should be added (litres per kilo of cherry)?and can i use the water from the cherry pasterizing?
4. finally, how long should i leave the cherries in the secondary min/max/opt?

1) They say the rule of thumb is 1# per gallon. I did that in a cherry wheat last year, and I didn't get much cherry if at all in a 5gal batch. So i'd ramp it up twice as much however not much room left in the carboy then.

2) I only pitted and froze the cherries and chucked them in. This year i'm going to try to pasteurize after frozen.

3) I'm not sure why you would be adding water.

4) As long as needed. I went 10 - 14 days don't recall exactly. I ended up having to use 2oz of cherry extract. Don't use too much extract if you go that route as well it will end up like cough syrup.