Caramel Matls?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Want2Brew

Master of None
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey guys and gals, I’m a relative noob with 5 batches under my belt ( 3 AG, 1 PM and one extract with steeping grains). I am playing around with an amber ale recipe and have a question about caramel malts. I am using beer alchemy and I noticed that if I put in 1# of caramel 80 or 2# of caramel 40 I come out with the same color (makes sense so far rite?). So I guess my question is what will be the flavor/taste difference of one over the other? So far my lighter beers have been a little thin tasting or perhaps lacking body and mouth feel. So considering that, would there be an advantage of one of these strategies over the other to help give my beer more body? Here is the recipe and thanks for any help you may have to offer.

Fermentables
US 2-Row Malt 11.00 lb
US Caramel 80L Malt 1.00 lb

Hops
US Centennial (6.9 % alpha) 1.00 oz Pellet Hops used 60 Min From End
US Cascade (5.4 % alpha) 1.00 oz Pellet Hops used 20 Min From End
US Cascade (5.4 % alpha) 1.00 oz Pellet Hops used 1 Min From End

Yeast: US-05 SafAle

Mash 1 hrs @ 154/6
5 Gal batch

Stick with the lighter caramels for your amber. There is a significant flavor difference between the different colors. Caramel 60 is actually an awesome choice for an amber, in my opinion. Caramel 80 is fine in a pale ale or bitter in small quantities, but when you want a malt that will provide most of the flavor, I'd go a bit lighter. Caramel 40 can be sorta boring and bland, I feel it doesn't quite have enough depth. Also, consider some other malts to give some depth, like Briess' Victory or Special Roast, or maybe Dingeman/Castle Biscuit malt.

Ok, cool. So maybe some thing like this would be better?