Cane Sugar v. Corn Sugar v. Table Sugar

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TravelingLight

Reaction score
I'm still new to brewing (got my first finishing now). I see a lot of recipes with corn sugar, some with cane sugar. When I brewed mine I was going to use sugar to dry it out (IPA) some and I just used regular old table sugar. My question is: what's the difference between cane and corn sugar, or why do some people prefer one over the other?

cane sugar = table sugar = white sugar
corn sugar = dextrose

really barely any appreciable difference. Neither imparts any taste. Both are 100% fermentable. Corn sugar is generally preferred for carbing since (supposedly) it is the easiest for yeast to digest, but cane sugar works fine. You just need to adjust you priming measurements accordingly since cane sugar has a bit more fermentables per pound than corn sugar (maybe vice versa)

cane sugar = table sugar = white sugar
corn sugar = dextrose

really barely any appreciable difference. Neither imparts any taste. Both are 100% fermentable. Corn sugar is generally preferred for carbing since (supposedly) it is the easiest for yeast to digest, but cane sugar works fine. You just need to adjust you priming measurements accordingly since cane sugar has a bit more fermentables per pound than corn sugar (maybe vice versa)
Once again, m00ps coming through! Thanks for the sound advice, as always.

In very large amounts, table sugar can give a "cidery" taste. In the bad old days we thought *any* table sugar in a beer would do that. I wouldn't go over 20% of the fermentables with it, but I might still just be superstitious.

I use sugar cubes to prime my bottles; works great and they are premeasured, and it's cheaper than using corn sugar or malt extract.