Can I add new/more yeast if 1st batch of yeast was dead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dna_alexov

Reaction score
I'm a newb to making beer. Only made two "beer kits" a few years ago, but now want to get back into it. Eventually I want to make my own beer from scratch, but first I want to experiment with the easy kits.

I made a new batch today with a kit. The yeast was 2 years past its expiry date. Did some reading on this forum, and although many said to just buy new yeast I did read that some have had success with 2+ year old yeast. So I tried it. Been about 8 hours now, and no bubbles or action of any sort. I suspect the yeast was dead.

So my question. Can I add a new packet of yeast into this same batch, or is it all toilet water now? Should I wait a few days before putting in new yeast? Should I somehow filter out the dead yeast?

Thanks

Thanks for the quick reply.

Forgot to add one more question. When I sprinkled the yeast, I did mix it around with the spoon for about 10 seconds. Am I supposed to stir after adding yeast? If so, do I really want to mix hard so it gets all throughout or just a little?

Thanks

I either rehydrate or just sprinkle it right on and snap the lid down.

But as far as your yeast being dead.... I really doubt aaaall of the yeast in the packet is dead even after 2 years. Also, 8 hours isn't nearly enough time to determine if fermentation has begun. The general consensus on homebrewtalk is fermentation can often take 12-72 hours to show actives signs..... and by active signs I do not mean airlock bubbling. It should never be used as a gauge for fermentation beginning or finishing; that's what your hydrometer is for :D