California Common with w-34/70?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nikkuchan

Reaction score
I ordered a California common recipe kit on sale (among others), and by some mistake, I ended up with Saflager w-34/70 instead of the suggested s-23. I figured I'd just make it with that, but I'm not experienced with lager yeasts, so I'm having some reservations. What's the verdict? Should I make it with the 34/70, or play it safe and go pick up a pack of s-23?

If you want a california common, you absolutely cannot use the 34/70. Thats a lager yeast from weihenstephaner, the famous weissbier brewery from germany. It will impart a lot of typical hefe phenols into your cali common that will be very out of place

Darn. That's too bad. I have no idea what a California common tastes like, so I'd like to get it right.
I guess I'll have to pick up some S-23. That leads me to another issue: I don't normally lager, so I don't know what I would do with this pack of 34/70. I'll have to do some research on any uses it could have at non-lager temps.

Darn. That's too bad. I have no idea what a California common tastes like, so I'd like to get it right.
I guess I'll have to pick up some S-23. That leads me to another issue: I don't normally lager, so I don't know what I would do with this pack of 34/70. I'll have to do some research on any uses it could have at non-lager temps.

Ever had Anchor Steam?

Steam_BeerBioImage.png

That's the most famous California Common beer commercially available, so you should be able to find it at any liquor store with a decent selection of beers (outside of California, you aren't going to find it at supermarkets, gas stations, or corner liquor stores, but it should be easily found at any respectable liquor store).