Buying a "no-chill" container locally

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewmarshall

Reaction score
I am still in my first year of brewing and I have recently upgraded my kettle and purchased an outdoor burner for full-sized AG batches (5.5 for now) so there are no funds remaining for a fancy wort chiller so I am going to explore "no chill".

Every time I look for info on the HDPE containers I am dragged back to the USPlastics website. Those look great, but I don't want to pay double for a product to be shipped to me. Can anyone suggest a retailer that would have this seemingly affordable and commonplace jerrycan on site so I do not have to have it shipped? (Like what kind of store sells this type of stuff? Food safe water jugs? Marine supplies? I am stumped and don't know where to start looking). :confused:

Thanks

Walmart sells a 5 gallon water can for camping that I believe some here use for no chill. Simpler yet, no chill in your kettle. I have started doing this w/ favorable results.

Most Plastic Fermenting buckets are rated to 150-170 degrees, so if you are coming off a boil, you could either melt the fermenting bucket or leech some chemicals out of the plastic at 150+ degree temps when you first transfer from the kettle to the no-chill vessel.

So, the vessel needs to be able to handle near boiling temperatures and preferably be HDPE/FDA food grade containers to be suitable as a no-chill vessel.

Most Plastic Fermenting buckets are rated to 150-170 degrees, so if you are coming off a boil, you could either melt the fermenting bucket or melt some chemicals out of the plastic at 150+ degree temps when you first transfer from the kettle to the no-chill vessel.