Brewing in Korea

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wildtower

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to brewing and this being community, happy to have found you guys and your treasure trove of experience and advice.

I'm from Canada but I'm beginning all grain brewing in Korea, which makes sourcing equipment a little challenging sometimes. I have experience making wine from kits and Korean natural rice "wine". Since I can't seem to find any wine grape concentrate in Korea, so sad, I wasn't to explore mead and fruit wine making after I get the hang of brewing beer.

I'm more of a wine drinker, but I want to learn how to make wheat beer for my spouse who loves it and drinks it exclusively. Though I might brew something like an IPA for myself later.

IMG_20220328_011723_523.jpg

I bought myself an all-grain "kit" for 20L which I divided by 4 to do 4 practice gallons. Based on how accurate I was with my first brew this was a very good decision. My mashing temp was too high and my OG ended up being too low. And I have no idea if my homemade one gallon fermenter lid will work. But I'm having fun so far!

Welcome!
I'm confident that your lid will work. On a recent batch in a glass carboy I just covered the opening with foil, and a plastic cup for good measure.

Welcome to the community. I see no problem with your lid, looks sufficient to me. You have embarked on a rewarding journey. Making beer, wine and meads is ones expressions and creativity that will bring many enjoyable moments with friends and family. Happy brewing. We'll see you around.

great job and welcome to korea! Bet its a bit hard to get malted grains there though....good luck!