Blichmann False Bottom/RIMS and Channeling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pfgonzo

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Bear with me, this might get lengthy.

I always assumed my RIMS system gave me a pretty efficient mash, but about 5-6 months ago, I experienced a more than 10% drop in my numbers. Concerned, I started learning more about crush, and water chemistry to try to figure out the problem and eliminate variables.

This weekend I did an experiment and saw my brewhouse efficiency jump to 85% on a 1.085 IIPA, which is not a small beer.

The background:

I have a single tier, three vessel, two pump system running a direct-fire RIMS mash. It's the basic analogue brutus10, with no automation. Once I had my system dialed in and I got into a good routine, I saw efficiency hovering between 77-79%, which I feel are more than respectable numbers for regular gravity beers. Higher gravity brews obviously result in a lower efficiency simply because most people don't feel like pulling 9 gallons and boiling 3 off in a 2.5 hour boil. We take less and leave residual sugars behind.

I digress.

When mashing, I use around 1.5 quarts of water per pound of grain. I dough in, stir to distribute and remove air bubbles, and let it sit for 10 minutes before starting my RIMS pump. I stir it again at the 5 and 10 minute mark because I learned the tiny trapped air bubbles on the grains and in the water eventually gave me cavitation issues. After implementing the pre-pump stir routine, that issue vanished.

My mash tun is a Blichmann 10 with the Blichmann false bottom. I love it; it's great. I can recirculate at a fast rate and not stick the mash. Good flow.