Bitter taste

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

resif

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm not a beginner in making mead but everytime I make it even after a lot of months and years of aging and with different yeasts or type of honeys and quantities I always have a bitter taste on my meads.
The only thing they have in common is that I can't filter them properly so there's some residual yeast at the bottom of every bottles.
Could it be the yeast left at the bottom that makes that bitter taste?

Thanks!

It's hard to explain but I don't think it's as in acidic because the product isn't gone.
Yes I am using nutrients but there was that bitter flavour even when I didn't use nutrients for other batches.

I guess I’m confusing bitter and sour/tart like lemons. My bad, Im thinking along the lines of acidic wines can taste sour or tart without being vinegar.

Hmmm, you said you were using different honey, yeasts and different nutrient protocols. What about water? Municipal Tap, well, store bought spring, distilled or RO?

Bitter or tart tends to be a pH problem. Do you add calcium carbonate at the start of ferment? Target a pH of 3.7 to 4.6 and check the pH when primary is done. If too acidic sweeten to maybe adjust the pH again. If still off try some tannens and a little vanilla.

Sorry, working on my tablet and cant seem to edit. Ignore the word "sweeten" in the last sentence.

How dry is it or the others that have the same issue?

Hmmm, you said you were using different honey, yeasts and different nutrient protocols. What about water? Municipal Tap, well, store bought spring, distilled or RO?