Biab w/Beersmith

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

illomenbrewery

Reaction score
I am going to be brewing my next batch in a BIAB method. I have a 15 Gallon cooler as a Mash Tun, and will be doing a no sparge BIAB mash in the cooler. Then I will drain to my kettle and continue brew process. I am new to the BIAB method, I will be buying beersmith before the brewday to help me dial in my method. The question I am wondering is, will beersmith be able to recognize my no-sparge cooler BIAB method so I would get the right amount of water to use to get the right total amount of pre-boil water volume? Or, lets say the pre-boil volume is supposed to be 6.5 gallons, would I just mash with the 6.5 gallons in the cooler, then drain to kettle? I would assume that I would get less than 6.5 gallons after mashing tho.

Thanks for all of the help.

(here is a video I found of the same process I would use)

Last edited by a moderator:
No need to buy Beersmith to figure out your volumes. Use one of the free online calculators. I used this one last time and my volumes were spot on.

http://pricelessbrewing.github.io

But if you're looking for an electronic way to record recipes and the activities of your brew day, you may want to buy some software. I prefer Brewers Friend personally, and found Beersmith to be overly complicated.

I BIAB and use BeerSmith for planning and record keeping. You do have to spend some time with it to set it up for your system. The key is to find the box in the Mash menu that says "BIAB." (Away from my computer so can't recall the exact wording.)

The other key is your boil off rate, but you'd need that for any calculation.