BIAB concentrated boil?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a newbie so I've been brewing extracts to get the hang of it. After some really good answers in my AG vs Extract thread. I've been doing 3 gallon concentrated boils. When using the BIAB method will this also be a concentrated boil?

I'm not familiar with what a concentrated boil is. We mash all grains in the total preboil water volume. Once mash is done, remove grains and boil.
Double crush your grains.

I have yet to be convinced that there's anything inherently wrong with doing partial-volume mashing with BIAB. I also see no reason you couldn't do a partial boil for BIAB just as well as you could for extract or traditional all-grain, with top-off water post-boil.

Personally, in my last two batches I mashed a little thicker than full-volume and did some simple sparging - the first time I just poured 172 degree water over the lifted grains and the second time a small hot-water pour and a cold-water dunk that made squeezing the bag much easier. I've got an IIPA coming up sometime in the nearish future, and if I go for a full five gallon batch, I'll definitely be mashing thick.

I believe the roots of BIAB are full-volume mash and no sparge or top-off, but there's no reason to limit yourself to that definition if you have a good reason to do so.

I agree different methods should work out also. I do a cool water sparge with a gallon of water to cool the grains off before squeezing too. My goal is to make decent beer with minimal effort.