Belgian bottles necessary? Really?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mistercameron

Reaction score
I am interested in brewing some common styles of Belgian beers. while looking at style carbonation tables, it looks like most get carbed to the same levels as any other ale - around 2.5 vols, give or take.

Besides looking cool with a cork and cage, why bother with the hassle of special bottles when standard bottles should be fine? ... Or are those carbing tables generally off? I've had fizzy Belgians before, but I'm not good at knowing what a certain carb level would be like.

Standard bottles are fine up to about 3 vols of CO2.

Lambic/Gauze/Brett beers can go above that and need higher pressure capable bottles. The problem with these beers is that they are never really finished, so over a long storage period, they can create much higher pressure.

Standard bottles are fine up to about 3 vols of CO2.

Lambic/Gauze/Brett beers can go above that and need higher pressure capable bottles. The problem with these beers is that they are never really finished, so over a long storage period, they can create much higher pressure.

Any problems with some of the higher ABV beers gaining pressure from sitting around so long? Say for example, a dark strong? I would think that once it hits FG it stays there and it's time to bottle it up. It would be nice to not have to invest in additional equipment if I don't have do, but nobody wants a bottle bomb on their hands

I've done a Chimay Blue and several Hefeweizen beers in regular glass bottles. All pushing the 3 volume limits. No problems. I did keep them in a plastic tub though....just in case.