BeerSmith to Recipe difference

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

403Brewer

Reaction score
I'll preface this to saying I'm new to brewing, about 5 batches done and all turned out well, but never used the beersmith software to program a brew before. Anyways I've entered a recipe from the BYO 250 Classic Clones magazine and the ABV calculated is super low (2.3%). This is a Guinness Extract recipe that I'm doing. Can anyone suggest what could be the issue? The amount of extract in the recipe seems really low, 3.2 lbs total DME/LME for a 5 gallon batch. Thanks for any advice.

Yeah, 3.2 lbs DME in a 5 gallon batch is really low and will give you a starting gravity of less than 1.03. Depending on the finishing gravity, the ABV calc seems generally close, but the recipe seems wrong.

Guinness is a lighter gravity beer, but not that light.

Could it be a partial mash recipe? Maybe they intend on some gravity from mashed grains.

Ya it's a partial mash, about 1 lb of mash grain, 1 lb of barley , still comes out with a starting OG of 1.028. The recommended dme is light malt extract. Does beer smith take any gravity from a partial mash?

Partial Mash
1 lbs 6.1 oz Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (3.0 SRM)
1 lbs Roasted Barley (300.0 SRM)
9.9 oz Barley, Flaked (1.7 SRM)
Boil
14.1 oz Light Dry Extract (8.0 SRM)
2.40 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min
2 lbs 9.6 oz Light Liquid Malt [Boil for 15 min](3.0 SRM)

1.0 pkg Irish Ale (Wyeast Labs #1084) [124.21 ml]

Maybe partial mash isn't the best term for this, Extract with grain is probably more accurate

It includes base malt so it's a partial mash. Make sure you have partial mash selected in Beersmith not extract or it will not take into account most of those gravity pts.