Beersmith Boil Off

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thdewitt

Reaction score
I have a question regarding boil off. Does anyone know if the size your are boiling affects the amount per hour than boils off? In Beersmith you put in a percentage like 15% for the boiloff. But then if you change the batch size from 5 gallons to 10 the boiloff goes up also. This doesn't seem right to me. It seems like if you have a 15 gallon pot and you boil 5 gallons and loose 1 gallon in an hour that if you boiled 10 gallons, you would also loose 1 gallon in an hour. It seems like the surface area exposed at the top of the pot is the same and the temperature is the same. I am just a layman. am I missing somthing? I keep on ending up with much less beer than 6 gallons on my "6 gallon" batches.

Thanks,
Tom

Well, I think I use 13% for my setup, but I definitely understand your concern. Unfortunately, I had the same question and still don't have an answer. Maybe someone has the answer will chime in for the both of us..... (Hey Brad, you around here these days?)

Figure out what your boiloff is, then adjust the precentage under your equipment setup. To the right of the Boil-Off % text box there is the actual amount in gallons. I find the estimate of 9% to be pretty close. I suppose those two fields should be both editable and linked, so that changes to either effect the other. Pretty easy change to make, I'd be happy to do it for Brad...should take me about 2 minutes (hint hint!). :D

You do boil off more with 5 gallon batches than 10+. I found I can mitigate that issue by establishing a strong boil for whatever size batch and then turning down the gas so that the boil is still rolling but not excessively.