Beefing up a coopers kit?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JifeLacket

Reaction score
Hey guys, lots of questions here. What can I do to get nice hop flavor and aroma with coopers kits? I have zero experience with hops and have been doing a ton of reading. I am going to brew two batches of coopers IPA (I think, unless there is another coopers kit that would work better), and I plan on using DME instead of dextrose. Would light malt extract work best?

From what i have read i should add hops at about 15min, 10min and flame out for aroma and flavor, is this correct?

Roughly how much hops should I start with? Any suggestions for the type of hop? Looking for some fruitiness...

Thanks,
Allan

It's just the hopped extract and a pack of yeast, the hopping wasn't really at the level I wanted it when I made it plain last time. Edit: I understand DME is not as fermentable as dextrose, so how would I go about adjusting ABV? Can I still go by OG and FG as I would with dextrose, or would I need a higher OG to get the same alcohol % using DME? I'm looking for a strong ~7% beer and i'll balance the sweetness with the hops.