BE-134 (I'm probably just impatient)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coffeeturnal

Reaction score
Hello,

Long-time lurker, first-time poster.

I'm a bit new to home-brew (on batch #6). Anyway, I'm making a hoppy saison (latest hydrometer sample suggests maybe too hoppy, but we'll see). I've been sticking to 2.5 Gallon batches while I figure all of this out.

I used BE-134 in this batch, which I know is a Diastaticus variant. How long should I wait for the amylase production to really kick in? I've had it in the fermenter for 10 days now and am sitting at 1.012 SG. BrewersFriend suggested that this yeast should take me down to 1.006 and I've seen a few forum posts of people having it take them much lower.

My malt bill is:
5lb Pilsener
1lb White Wheat
.5lb Table Sugar

OG: 1.065

I kept it in a room in the mid 60s for 3 days, then put it in my garage which has been right around 80 for the rest of the time. I was at 1.013 a week ago (I checked because fermentation seemed to have subsided) and 1.012 yesterday.

Do I assume it's done? Or does the Diastaticus take a while to ferment out? I don't want to assume it's done and get bottle bombs.

Hello,

Long-time lurker, first-time poster.

I'm a bit new to home-brew (on batch #6). Anyway, I'm making a hoppy saison (latest hydrometer sample suggests maybe too hoppy, but we'll see). I've been sticking to 2.5 Gallon batches while I figure all of this out.

A hydrometer sample will measure the sugar content of the wort/beer, but it won't tell you anything about hoppiness.

I used BE-134 in this batch, which I know is a Diastaticus variant. How long should I wait for the amylase production to really kick in?