Basic GF brew questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobInOre

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Greetings All,
I'm not new to brewing but I am new to gluten free. Yesterday I made my first GF beer for my dad. Since dropping gluten, he has had to replace beer with wine and he hates it. If I can make something that tastes like beer then he might be willing to try homebrewing for himself. When he was a beer drinker, he drank cheap, high alcohol, crap so the bar for success is pretty low. I made this recipe after researching these boards for information;

6 gallons at start of boil / 5 gallons in fermenter
1/2 oz. Citra, 45min.
1/4 oz. Citra, flame out.
1/4 oz. Citra, dry hop, 1 week before bottling.
1 lb. rice syrup solids, 45min.
6 lb. sorghum LME, 30min.
1 lb. honey, 15min.
Safale 05, rehydrated before pitching.
The OG was 1.060

I typically leave my brews alone for 2 weeks then bottle. After conditioning for ten days they're ready to drink. At least ready enough for me.
Will I need to treat this batch differently? Should I leave it longer before bottling? How long?
Will 3/4 cup priming sugar be ok when I bottle?
What is the minimum conditioning time before drinking?
Is there anything in this recipe that is alarming and what would you change?
I usually use steeping grains, is there a gf equivalent that I can use? All of that Citra makes me nervous but my research suggested that it would be a good choice to cover the metallic sorghum flavor.

I'd like to have a simple "go to" gf, extract recipe at the ready. Thanks in advance.

If you want steeping grains, you can order Eckert rice malt, or Grouse millet or buckwheat malt.