Basement build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What should I do with the cinderblock walls?

• Total voters

ja_in_NJ

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I recently purchased a new home, and my supportive wife has foolishly allowed me to take a storage room and turn it into my hobby space. Curious for some pro tips from anyone here who has plumbing experience as i do intend to add a sink to the space but the waste pipe isnt under the concrete slab. I think I can tap in to the existing pipe near the window (Picture 1), but ideally i'd like to put the sink on the back wall (picture 1 where the keg is). Is that possible with the waste line on the adjacent wall? I'm not a pro plumber but i am handy.

I also plan on putting my Robobrew against the back wall with a range hood. Haven't decided if im going to leave the cinderblock as is or paint it or cover it with some reclaimed pallets.

IMG_6079.jpeg
IMG_6080.jpeg
IMG_6081.jpeg

Where in NJ are you?
What to do with the walls depends on how fancy you want your finished product to be. You buying lots of stainless tables, sinks, hoods? I'd consider tiling the whole wall the brewery is on. Wood isn't technically sanitary, right?
I think painting it with the appropriate white paint could be just fine too.
White subway tiles are pretty cheap tho....

I have a slop sink with an ejector pump as the drain is lower than the waste pipe. It works great.

This was a pro job. I like to think myself handy but I’m definitely not a plumber.