Any advice on my last brew?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lashack

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Homebrewers,

I am a beginner brewer (3rd brew ever) and wanted to get some guidance after my last brew. This was a 5 gallon DME batch of a German Hefeweizen [Extract]. I bought all the ingredients the day of brew and used the recipe in picture below. Please give me any advice and reason for issues for how the brew went.

1) Steeped 10 oz. of German Munich Malt in 1 gallon of water for 30 mins in 5 gallon brew kettle. Water temperature was 170°-180° F. Recipe called for 150° F, but stove top kept water temp too high (even after turning burner of med to low to off).

2) Added 2 more gallons to brew kettle (3 gallons total) along with 6 lbs. of DME. Turned burner on high and dissolved DME. Brought brew kettle to a boil, then added 1 oz. of German Hops and boiled for 60 mins.

3) After 60 mins, I removed brew kettle from stove and immediately placed into sink with ice around it. The temperature would not drop so I added the remaining 2 gallons of cold water that had been in the freezer. Temp still would not drop, so I added another bag of ice around brew kettle. Temp. finally dropped to around 72°-73° after 2 hours (could not get temp. any lower).

4) Siphoned wart into 6.5 gallon carboy, gave it a good shake, then pitch the yeast (removed yeast directly from refrigerator). Gave it another small shake then plugged it up with airlock.

5) Ambient temp. is about 68°, first 24 hours the internal temp has been around 72°-74°. To try and keep temp. down I continuously place wet refrigerated t-shirts around carboy to keep internal temp around 69°-70°.

image6-1.jpeg
image1-1.jpeg

image2-1.jpeg

image5-1.jpeg

0 Hours
image4-1.jpeg

24 Hours