Annoying sanitizer foam

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Atif

Reaction score
Hi guys
I am new to home brewing and I don't have a keg so I bottle my beer. When bottling, the sanitizer foam mounts to the top, covers the wand and makes it a pain to fill the bottles correctly. Any ideas on how to avoid this mess? Thanks

i don't have a bottle tree so I sanitize my bottles, then turn them upside down on the pegs in my dishwasher. That lets the excess sanitizer drain out and keeps the bottles handy as I fill them over the door of the dishwasher. Any spills are contained on the dishwasher door and when done I just close the door to dump the liquid into the dishwasher. I usually do a dozen bottles at a time as that keeps them at a handy distance.

When you are filling bottles, have your racking cane all the way in the bottom of the bottle, when the beer starts coming out the top of the bottle, all the foam is ejected, pull out the racking cane and there will be the proper amount of head space.
I put a rectangular baking pan in the sink so the bottles have a flat surface to sit on.
Any mess created is in the sink.

I fill the bottles straight in the crates. I clean and sanitise them and place them upside down in the crates on a thick towel (everything sanitised). As I bottle, I pull a crate closer, flip all the bottles the right way up, bottle straight in the crate and swing on the tops as I'm done, bottle for bottle. Crates are then moved straight into the pantry. Simple enough for me. I stop when the beer reached the top of the neck, before it runs out. I have an LED headlight I sit in the crate to shine light into the bottles so I can easily see where the level of beer is at.

Probably need another sanitizer.