Announcing 'Mash Made Easy', a mash pH adjustment assistant

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
First, thanks so much for your patience and thorough explanation! I apparently misunderstood AJ's post on measuring liquid CaCl2. BW tells me to use 5.8 gm of solution which I needed to convert into volume for MME. I totally spaced that this conversion is simply the SG... No excuse, I'm just stupid.:(

First, thanks so much for your patience and thorough explanation! I apparently misunderstood AJ's post on measuring liquid CaCl2. BW tells me to use 5.8 gm of solution which I needed to convert into volume for MME. I totally spaced that this conversion is simply the SG... No excuse, I'm just stupid.:(

You are not stupid. You are merely learning. I'm retired, and I'm still learning (daily, and a lot).

We seem to have determined (with the aid of an independent online calculator) that MME is correct in its weight per volume method of CaCl2 solution measurement, so now lets look at BW (which I can only presume from your discussion is using a weight per weight method, as opposed to a weight per volume method). How many grams of a SG = 1.100 calcium chloride solution does BW say are required in order to yield up 5.8 grams of anhydrous calcium chloride?

Last edited:
At this point I'm hesitant to make any comments about either program(!), but here goes...