Angry Wolf IIPA Critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

modobrew

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at creating my own recipe. I have typically made clones but have decided that I want to venture out and see what I can do. I'm a total hophead and tend to love the Pliny the Elders, Headytoppers, Surly Abrasives, and DFH 90 Mins of the brew world. Let me know what you guys think. I'm definitely looking for opinions on how to make the recipe better. :rockin:

Recipe: Angry Wolf IIPA
Style: Imperial IPA
Type: All Grain

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 13.61 gal
Post Boil Volume: 12.48 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 11.00 gal
Estimated OG: 1.081 SG
Estimated Color: 12.0 SRM
Estimated IBU: 121.9 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 79.3 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
25 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 75.8 %
5 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 2 15.2 %
1 lbs Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 3 3.0 %
2 lbs Corn Sugar (Dextrose) (0.0 SRM) Sugar 4 6.1 %
3.75 oz Warrior [15.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 5 73.1 IBUs
2.50 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 6 39.0 IBUs
1.00 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 1.0 min Hop 9 0.6 IBUs
1.50 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 8 9.2 IBUs
2.00 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Dry Hop 7.0 Days Hop 11 0.0 IBUs
2.00 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Dry Hop 7.0 Days Hop 12 0.0 IBUs
4.0 pkg Nottingham Yeast (Lallemand #-) [23.66 m Yeast 10 -
2.00 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 mins) Fining 7 -

Mash for 60 mins at 152F. Batch Sparge.

Thanks all! :mug:

Sound delicious, cant wait to try it. When will you be brewing this one?

By the way... Love the name!