An ongoing project of mine: oven-baked chicken wings that taste they've been fried..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bklmt2000

Reaction score
Something I've been working on for several months is, to try to make chicken wings in the oven, that taste like they've been fried. My goal was to develop another method to make fried-like wings in the oven on days when either it's not feasible to grill (raining, too cold, etc.), or deploying a deep-fryer indoors isn't feasible.

Serious Eats had an article a while back about using baking powder + salt to dry-brine the wings overnight in the fridge, resulting in a crispy skin.

I've found that air-drying the wings in the fridge, overnight on a stainless cooling rack in a rimmed baking sheet, minus the BP/salt, can provide nearly the same crispiness as the baking powder/salt method. This can work well for folks who love wings but are trying to watch their sodium intake.

I cook my wings for 1 hour @ 400°F (sometimes a little longer, depending on wing done-ness/crispiness). I also employ various spice rubs (pre-cook) and sauces (post-cook), depending on the flavor I'm after.

I figure with SB Sunday coming up, this might (I hope) be of some benefit for those who want to make some wings, but the oven is the only viable option.

Some pics of my work:

DyrdLaQ.jpg

jJx3XeE.jpg

bPvGOau.jpg

Cheers!

Alton Brown did a thing on this once. I believe he steamed the wings at first, to render the fat out of the skin so he could oven-cook them at higher temps to get the crispiness without the smoke/splatter/burning of the skin retaining all the fats.

Edit: Here - https://altonbrown.com/buffalo-wings/

I tried the baking powder thing and found the wings overly salty and with a weird taste.