Aged lager?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anotherbeerplease

Reaction score
I'm interested in brewing a both a true Marzen and a Festbier. Brewed in March and lagered until at least September.

I'm sure it's been done before but it's my first time - anything I should be aware of with such an extended (in the modern sense) lagering period?

I'm sure it's been done before but it's my first time - anything I should be aware of with such an extended (in the modern sense) lagering period?

Yes, your beer will be more stale (from oxidative reactions) than it would be with less aging. IMO, lagers should be lagered until they are crystal clear (or as clear as the brewer wants), then consumed. Once the yeast, proteins, and polyphenols have dropped and the beer is clear (and assuming fermentation, including byproduct cleanup, was complete before lagering), there's really nothing good happening any more.

Agree w/ Vikeman and I’ve lagered Fests/Marzens from spring til fall in the past (usually sipping on them a few times in between). I have been happiest w/ September-served fests brewed the first week or so in June.

IMO, doppelbocks (eg) are at their peak in the 5-6 month range and fest-type beers really shine at 3 months— then gradually lose their subtle character over a few months until the last (sniff) pint. You can limit oxidation somewhat with spunding or using speise in the lagering keg. This will buy you some time if you want to try the old school long lagering approach.

Ever since covid my beers are lasting 6 mos or more so I started using Brewtan-B in the mash. I can't do side by sides but the hop and malt character are still forward at 6-8 mos.