Affordable Can Seamer?!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RAWnel831

Reaction score
What's up fellow Homebrewers,

Are you guys interested in low volume canning like me? I can't justify the cost of spending $500+ on a can seamer when ill be only canning less than 5 gallons of beer every so often. I believe a manual hand crank seamer can get the job done. I'm taking a business class and I created a quick website for a can seamer business idea I have. I'm just getting started and the website is nowhere near finished. Any thoughts or comments are welcomed!

rordona1.wixsite.com/canning-solutions

Last edited:
That is a great idea. A cheap hand crank seamer. I have seen old fashioned hand crank seamers, and even oktober offers a hand crank version. But they are still 800$+. If you can make one, market it, and then keep up production I think you might have something.

My 2 cents is... I hardly doubt there is a market for small batch beer canners. Sanatizing bottles is a chore in its own then to do that with cans and can lids doesn't sound like something I would do. Not to mention bottles are reusable and cans get recycled. It would be nostalgia piece of equipment that may see some sales but bottle and kegging will still dominate the market.

What's up fellow Homebrewers,

Are you guys interested in low volume canning like me? I can't justify the cost of spending $500+ on a can seamer when ill be only canning less than 5 gallons of beer every so often. I believe a manual hand crank seamer can get the job done. I'm taking a business class and I created a quick website for a can seamer business idea I have. I'm just getting started and the website is nowhere near finished. Any thoughts or comments are welcomed!

rordona1.wixsite.com/canning-solutions