Advice on a planned brew!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phynes1

Reaction score
Hi All,

Beginner here. Just wanted to get peoples opinion on a brew I’m planning.

Just to give people a bit of background on my brewing experience. My first brew was a couple of weeks ago (coopers english bitter), this is currently bottled a few days now. My second brew was coopers IPA, which is in the fermenter a few days. Both were brewed with a 1.5kg can of LME, and no other additives.

I’m planning to put my next brew on whenever the IPA comes out of the fermenter. My plan is to take a step up in terms of complexity, as feel I am familiar with the process now. I’m planning to brew a higher strength, more hoppy IPA. Planned ingredients as follows:

- 1.7kg Can Coopers IPA
- 1.5kg Can LME
- 1kg Dextrose
- ?kg Hops

What do people think of this plan? And how do they think it will turn out, flavour strength, etc?

What type of hop would suit this? And how much?

Anyone have any tips on brew day, fermenting, bottling, aging, etc?

Note; the equipment I’m using is the basic coopers starter set.

All advice will be much appreciated.

Ph.

I don't have any experience with coopers kits but all I can say about the hops is look at a few clone recipes of your favorite IPAs. Look at the hops and pick a piece from each one. This is what I did for all my recipes in the beginning.

I would take a step out of Cooper's World and create your own.

Do you have access to unhopped LME, steeping grains (crystal), maybe some DME? What hop varieties are available to you at the moment? Take a look at some ideas here: https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f37/