Advice for Brewer Applicant

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrotherBock

Reaction score
Hey All,

Hoping those that work in the industry can give me some advice.

I may have a meeting very soon with a few people about a brewing position at a new start up. They are in the process of building right now. I don't know how big their system is.

I have 5 years homebrewing experience. Most of which is heavily concentrated in the last three. I've won 3 awards and gotten some decent scores on other beers. Though I lack experience on a commercial system I know I have the aptitude to learn.

The ad said "brewmaster" but was lacking specifics on desired applicant qualifications. I get the sense they're hiring brewers in general as they are looking to get a good team of brewers going and I know I can be valuable.

So my questions are:
  • Most job interviews I've had I put on a suit or something nice. Is it safe to assume I can "dress down" a little for this? Maybe just clean, not ripped pants and a clean shirt like a decent button up plaid?
  • What's a reasonable salary (or wage) for an assistant brewer? Brewmaster?
  • What can I do to reassure them I'd be valuable given my lack of commercial experience?
  • What are key things to know about the brewing process when going from homebrew scale to commercial?
  • Should I bring any homebrew? Recipes? Awards?
  • What other advice can you give me?

Id probably wear a button up shirt and khakis or something. No idea on the wage expectation but Id definitely bring some homebrew (preferably chilled). Id leave it in the car though, dont walk into the interview with it in your hand. Just casually mention it while tlaking to them