Add boiled down concentrated wort when transferring to secondary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drasticdub

Reaction score
Hello all!

This is my first post and I am a relatively new home brewer - I have 5 brew days under my belt and have only botched one ... so far ...

On my last brew I did not have a concrete recipe and cobbled together from various posts around the internet a clone of the Hitachino Red Rice Ale ... (basically a Belgian Golden Strong w/ a specific kind of rice)

Because I'm a noob I ended up with a small kettle's worth of extra wort ... I researched uses for it and in-the-moment decided to boil it down to a syrup, which is now literally and figuratively chilling in my fridge (about a pound-by-weight)

I've mixed a small amount into a few cocktails but otherwise don't really know what to do with it ...

Until I had the idea of adding it to the secondary fermenter when I transfer (I don't want to add additional yeast)

If I were to add some water to it, boil it and sanitize it ... could this up the ABV, flavor, etc ? Or is this a pointless and too-risky endeavor?

Any thoughts or experiences are greatly appreciated - Thanks!

]
If I were to add some water to it, boil it and sanitize it ... could this up the ABV, flavor, etc ? Or is this a pointless and too-risky endeavor?

you sure can. i'll add it to the primary, otherwise you're effectively turning your secondary into a second primary.

It won't hurt anything, and indeed, if you intended on having those sugars in there for the initial brew, they will be better off added than not.

@FromZwolle - Cheers for that!

This was exactly my thought but have yet to add additional fermentables to a batch ...