Acid in Mash

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wsmith1625

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I started brewing with filtered tap water and made pretty good beer. I collected the water the day before so the chlorine could off gas, but later started using campden tablets. Wanting to up my game, I ordered a water report from Ward Labs. I started playing with the water calculators and found that I could improve my water for pale ales and IPAs by adding 4 grams of gypsum and 4 grams of calcium chloride. This water profile was also creating good beer. Then I read that all beer needs to have acid added to the mash water, so I went back to the water calculator and played around with the 88% lactic acid numbers. The last beer I brewed was a Belgian IPA using 4 grams of gypsum and calcium chloride and 4ml of 88% lactic acid. This turned out to be one of the worst beers I have made in a long time. My brew session went well so I tend to think the lactic acid messed it up. Do I really need to add acid to my mash water and would 4ml of lactic acid have a big enough impact on flavor to ruin a #5 batch of beer?

4ml of lactic acid in a 5g batch is well below the taste threshold.
What did your calculator say about your mash pH before the addition of acid? Just the salts may have been enough to get the pH in a favorable range.
In some of my recipes I don't need acid to lower the pH as the salts alone are sufficient, granted I brew mostly Brittish styles and adjust my water to UK levels of mineral content.

Where did you read that? Many beers do not require an addition of an acid, and some require the addition of Baking Soda, the opposite of an acid.