A Question by a Complete Beginner

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dirk Boer

Reaction score
I've only just entered the world of home brewing. Is there any special equipment I should buy?

At minimum you need a kettle ... A heat source... A fermenter and airlock, some kind of packaging method, and devices to transfer.

Heat source? Gas vs propane vs electric
Kettle? Depends on batch size. All-grain vs extract or somewhere in between. BIAB vs multi-vessel. Full volume boil vs partial.
Fermenter? Depends on budget and features you want.
Packaging? Bottling vs kegging.
Transfer devices usually include tubing, and either a siphon or vessels with spigots. Maybe a pump.

A wort chiller, a long stir spoon, thermometer, hydrometer, and scale are other basic items. A method for controlling fermentation temperature is important, especially if you want to brew certain styles. You need sanitizer and cleaning agents.
There are hundreds of other gadgets that can help with various things depending on your setup and how far down the rabbit hole you go.

Great hobby and lots of fun! Welcome to HBT!

Last edited:
Outside of all that was already listed, I'll add John Palmer's How to Brew book. Not only will he lay all the required equipment out but he'll walk you through the steps of brewing for beginners.

I'd suggest you buy a basic beer brewing equipment kit such as this one.

https://www.midwestsupplies.com/brew-share-enjoy-homebrew-starter-kit