6 Weeks in the fermenter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cyto

Reaction score
I have a double IPA that I put in the fermenter (Catalyst) on march 9, so monday the 20th will be 6 weeks. Right now it is VERY slowly fermenting based on the airlock cap being pushed.

I have been brewing for 20+ years and have never had a beer sit this long before bottling, I am pretty sure it is OK but I wondered if anyone had a beer sit in the fermenter for this long, or longer.

When you say its still fermenting slowly based on pushing the airlock, do you mean when you put pressure on it a bubble escapes?

Last edited:
When you say its still fermenting slowly based on pushing the airlock, do you mean when you put pressure on it a bubble escapes?

No, every once in a while a bubble escapes. I usually bottle when there is 0 pressure on the airlock and the inside cap that moves is resting on the bottom.
I have always bottled when the cap is on the bottom and stays there, which means there is no activity that is increasing the pressure.

Take a gravity reading yet?
Six weeks is like four+ weeks too long for an IPA...
Cheers!

No reading as I still see low activity, and it is a double IPA.

This is the airlock I am referring to.

airlock.jpg

No, every once in a while a bubble escapes. I usually bottle when there is 0 pressure on the airlock and the inside cap that moves is resting on the bottom.
I have always bottled when the cap is on the bottom and stays there, which means there is no activity that is increasing the pressure.

No reading as I still see low activity, and it is a double IPA.