55 gallon plastic food-safe barrels with lids -- useful?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TuttleCreekBrewing

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a longtime lurker who, next week, will finally be getting a place big enough to let me get into this delicious and rewarding hobby for real. I've brewed a couple times with friends and have read mountains of great information on this forum and others, but let's be honest, I'm still a noob!

So my question is this -- a local thrift store is selling 55 gallon plastic food-safe barrels with lids for $20 each. While my initial brews at my new place will be 5gal, would the 55gal barrels be useful to me in some way, either now or in the future? It would be better if they were metal so I could put them over a burner, but the price seems really good...as long as they'll be useful in some way.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

My buddy gets ridiculous amounts of fresh berries for wine and the 55 gallons aren't the biggest he has too big for me but works for him

someone I found on youtube made a rotating malt sprouter out of one, I made one from a 15 gallon barrel. I have two 55 gallon barrels, I used them as soaking tubs for bottles to remove the labels.

Find out what was in them, they can impart weird flavors if you ferment in them directly depending on the original contents, I know that some people put food safe bag liners in them and ferment in them like that, no real cleanup. They would make great storage containers for bulk grain though, I have about 200 pounds sitting in a closet that would go well in a barrel like that.

you probably won't need them very soon, and if they are available all the time then wait on them and see if they can fit into your final brewery.