4 days and still at OG

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NomoMoMo

Reaction score
On Saturday I brewed a Porter extract kit from Midwest. I used Wyeast 1028 London Ale yeast, took the pack out of the fridge when I started brewing, smacked and shook and let it sit on the counter for 3.5 hours while I brewed and cooled. Pitched the yeast at 70* with the OG at 1.044. I did not see any activity so tonight I decided to take a hydrometer reading. Guess what it read, 1.044 :( It appears my yeast went on strike.

I did place the fermentor in the basement on the ground, the thermometer on the bucket is hovering around 60* ( I think when I checked earlier, it may have even been 58*) The Wort smells and tasted like it did when I brewed it, so it still appears to be uninfected.

My question is, with the Wyeast temp range being between 60-72F should I move it to a warmer part of the house to see what happens, or should there have been some activity and drop in gravity which would indicate a dead yeast strain and pitch the spare Mutons dry yeast spare I bought, just in case.

Thanks in advance.

Did the smack pack swell over that 3.5 hours, or when you pitched was the smack pack as floppy as it was before you smacked it?

If it swelled, it's just the basement floor temp. Once it gets warmer it'll take off. The basement floor bringing the fermenter below 60 is almost definitely the cause.

If the smack pack didn't swell, then it could be an issue with the yeast, yes. But my money is on the low temps/basement floor right now.

Once you warm it up past 60-62 ish, give it a couple days and fermentation will most likely kick off.

Did the smack pack swell over that 3.5 hours, or when you pitched was the smack pack as floppy as it was before you smacked it?