4-category Homebrew Contest

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

momchenr

Reaction score
Hey gang! I've been homebrewing for a few years now and lurk on the forums for advice and guidance. I found out that my boss at work is putting on a festival this fall and wants to have a homebrew competition be part of the festivities. He and I were talking about it, and I tried to explain to him that since he could only really count on 15-20 competitors, that categorization would be difficult.

He doesn't want it to be any more than 4 categories. At first I was thinking, 'Wheats / Pales / Darks / Other', but that wasn't right. Then I thought about just doing it off SRM... setting up brackets of SRM and going off color. But that didin't feel right either.

If you guys had to split up a homebrew contest into 4 categories - what would they be? I know this is a totally loaded question.:mug:

This may not be what you're looking for, but what about regional style caegories? American-, British-, German-, and Belgian-style beers?

Just participated in a local competition that was set up as follows:

Division 1 Light/Pale Ale
CLASS:
1. AMERICAN LIGHT ALE (Blonde)(BJCP Style 6B)
2.CREAM ALE(BJCP Style 6A)
3.KOLSCH(BJCP Style 6C)
4.ORDINARY BITTER(BJCP Style 8A)
5.BRITISH PALE ALE (ESB)(BJCP Style 8C)
6.AMERICAN PALE ALE(BJCP Style 10A)
7.AMERICAN AMBER ALE(BJCP Style 10B)

Division 2 India Pale Ale
CLASS:
1.ENGLISH IPA (BJCP Style 14A)
2.AMERICAN IPA (BJCP Style 14B)
3.DOUBLE IPA (BJCP Style 14C)

Division 3 Brown/ Dark Ales
CLASS:
1.AMERICAN BROWN ALE(BJCP Style 10C)
2.OLD ALE(BJCP Style 19A)
3.ENGLISH BARLEYWINE(BJCP Style 19B)
4.AMERICAN BARLEYWINE(BJCP Style 19C)
5.ROBUST PORTER(BJCP Style 12B)
6.SWEET STOUT(BJCP Style 13B)
7.OATMEAL STOUT(BJCP Style 13C)