1st time brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joshua Moore

Reaction score
Good morning!

I just started brewing beer. My 1st kit was the Brewers Best Scottish Ale, pretty dang easy and good.

was scanning through a couple recipies here on the site and had a question about water amounts and when to add
Example:
Batch Size (Gallons):5.5

i did not see in the recipe to "start with X amount to boil"

Would it be safe to start with any amount of water? I can boil about 2.5 with the pot i have then add the other 3 gallons into the fermenting bucket.

is that normal to boil and steep with what you can then add the rest of the water later?

Also if the recipe doesn't include bottling instructions (how much priming sugar/water to use) how does one calculate that?

Any help would be awesome

Thank you

I assume you are doing extract, which I have not done, but this information should track regardless. Someone else can whack me over the head if it doesn't.

Most recipe building software - Brewer's Friend, Beersmith, etc - will tell you how much water to start with, as well as priming sugar calculations. Regarding priming sugar, honestly, I plan to use carbonation drops because I like to eliminate as much guesswork as possible and the small price premium over regular sugar is worth it to me - I say "plan to use" because I haven't bottled my first batch yet.

Generally speaking, I would not add water to the fermenting bucket unless my original gravity was too high. It's worth investing in a larger pot - they are quite affordable at restaurant supply stores, I think I picked my eight-gallon aluminum pot up for just a hair under $45.