1st brew post Turkey day.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 201787

Reaction score
I was encouraged to share in the group about my set-up and consequently my first brewing experience.

Yes, I am a newb to the site and a newb to the art and craft of brewing. I started out with the seed of a thought years ago that finally sprouted (or some might say malted).

A few weeks ago I sought out a brew class at my nearby home brew store and picked up some equipment (general/ basic 5 gallon brew kit). I initially was going to brew a Porter extract kit in a partial boil. I changed my mind on both accounts. I regularly partake in drinking a Moose Drool (brown ale) and returned the kit to the HBS and picked up all the items needed for a extract clone. I also went in on a 8 gallon stock pot and burner.

This last Saturday I went out to the garage while the wife and in-laws were relaxing in the warmth of the house and the 2 rug-rats were down and out for a nap. The longest part was actually getting set up,,, then it's watching a pot boil. It felt like it took forever as a watched pot isn't supposed to boil... but this one sure did... for an hour LOL.

Anyhow, one difficult item the wife and I were facing was just where to put the primary? The temperatures dropped over the weekend and some places I had thought of were either on the cold side or the warm side. It was settled that a closet was the right temp (66 - 67 at all times). I made preparations in case of a blow-off was needed and to-date, all is well.