100% Brett starter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chupidacabra

Reaction score
So I'm new to starters. Especially Brett ones. I just want to make sure my process is okay before jumping in.

I have a homemade stir plate and a growler. My plan is to make 1.03 wort using light dme (how much roughly?) in 1L of pre boiled water. Let spin for a few days. (Can i use an airlock or is foil better?) then decant liquid and step up again with 1L.

I'm brewing 5g with WL Brett Brux trois.

If I were to leave behind enough bugs to make a culture for future brews, what would be the best way to go about this? Any advice or criticism would be appreciated, thanks.

Chup~
Just made a starter with the same yeast last night. Generally you want to make a 10:1 ratio of water(ml) to DME (grams). So for a 1 liter starter (1000ml) you'd need 100g DME.
You are probably better off just putting 1800ml in the growler and just making one batch instead of splitting it up and decanting. From what I have read B.B.Trois is a poor flocculator, so you'd dump a significant amount of cells if you did that. If you're on a stir plate you shoulder shouldn't have much of a krousen. This is the first time using BBTrois, but I've been making starters for every batch of beer for years.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Home Brew mobile app

If you're doing a 100% Brett fermented beer with nothing else, your starter needs to be big. Think lager sized. The last time I did a Brett starter, it was 4L. Had to step it up a few times.

If you're doing a 100% Brett fermented beer with nothing else, your starter needs to be big. Think lager sized. The last time I did a Brett starter, it was 4L. Had to step it up a few times.

This is simply not true. Ale sized starters are perfectly fine.