Wyeast 1187 Slow Fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

specialp

Reaction score
So this past weekend I was brewing a Flying Dog Doggystyle (Pale Ale) Clone and the recipe called for Wyeast 1187 Ringwood Ale. I've never used this type of yeast before but the package calls for the yeast to pitch for 3 hours.. I, being rather impatient, only let it pitch for 2 and poured it into my carboy for fermentation. Let it sit for over 24 hours and there was no activity. I put a fermentation lock on it Monday Night and I came home today with still little activity. Prior to brewing this weekend, I did have the yeast in my refrigerator (pretty low temp) for at least 2-3 weeks. Did I kill the yeast? Did I not pitch it for long enough? Or is it just a slow moving yeast? Maybe I'm missing something all together.

I took this photo tonight of the activity I've seen so far. If someone could share some wisdom with me it would be greatly appreciated

carboy with yeast.jpg

What do you mean by saying you pitched it for 2 hours and you were supposed to pitch for 3? What temperature are you fermenting at? The ideal range for this yeast is 64-74 and generally during the aerobic activity the wort will reach a higher temp than ambient which can lead to off flavors. Also there appears to be a slight krausen developing on top of the wort which means it's starting to do its thing. You most likely under pitched, not enough yeast, and it's going to take a while to get going.

1187 is a weird yeast. Unless you have an actively fermenting starter, it will take 48 hours to show any signs of fermentation. Even pre fermentation signs like little bubbles on the surface. With just the smack pack, 96 hours of lag time would not surprise me.