Wtf!?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

no_borders

Reaction score
im fairly new to brewing lagers, decided to do an american dark lager for the nhc this year. tasted it all through fermentation, so signs of diacetyl at all. just to be sure i even did a rest for a week before lagering. first tasted it out of the keg after a week of conditioning and thats all i could taste, straight butter. i was getting discouraged and was getting ready to dump it, but for ****s i tried it again and it appears to be going away. i cannot explain this at all, the more i pour off and the longer it sits the better it gets, i just didnt think that you could clean up diacetyl with lagering/conditioning. maybe i was tasting yeast that had fallen to the bottom of the keg? i really dont know, im not upset by anymeans, just confused

I understand that, what blew my mind was I always thought the only way you could clean up diacetyl was by letting the yeast reabsorb it, but it seems that have have in the keg, even though it's pressurized and I always thought co2 poisoned the yeast, I don't know I'll keep at it and see how the story develops, thanks man

Pressure doesn't poison yeast at the levels we work with. If it did, we wouldn't be able to bottle condition our beer.

Lager's need more than a week to condition. In fact, in my experience, months are required until the beer taste the way I feel it should. Many have a 'buttery' taste when first tapped, but after a month or two of lagering....yummy.

Lager's need more than a week to condition. In fact, in my experience, months are required until the beer taste the way I feel it should. Many have a 'buttery' taste when first tapped, but after a month or two of lagering....yummy.